Navigation and service

Lost Art


Kunstschutz (art protection)

According to the Hague Convention Respecting the Laws and Customs of War on Land (1899 and 1907), protecting art is among the obligations of military administrations in occupied countries.

During World War II, the head office of art protection in France was located in Paris; its duties included protecting palaces and monuments from damage by the Wehrmacht, but also “monitoring the recovery depots of French museums, ensuring and monitoring foreign art holdings, preparing the restoration of cultural artifacts looted in Germany, control and guidance of German art dealing in France […].” (Political archive of the Foreign Office, R 61087a). Its director was art historian Franz Graf Wolff Metternich, from July 1942 his deputy was Bernhard von Tieschowitz. The art protection department was assigned to the Oberkommando des Heeres-Generalquartiermeister (high command of the army—quartermaster general) and in fact sometimes found itself in opposition to organizations of the Nazi state such as the SS, the Gestapo or the Reichsleiter Rosenberg Taskforce (ERR).

As the German occupation spread, art protection in the affected areas was also expanded. Art protection was established in all conquered and occupied areas in which a military administration was set up, meaning in Belgium, France, Serbia, Greece (from 1943) and Italy (from 1943), but not in the protectorates (such as Bohemia and Moravia), not in the Reichskommissariaten (such as the Netherlands, Ostland, Ukraine, Norway), not in Reichsgau Wartheland, not in the Generalgouvernement for the occupied Polish areas, not in annexed areas (like Sudetenland, Luxembourg, or Lorraine and Alsace).

However, it failed to prevent the extensive looting of art by the Germans, as the art protection department in some areas developed into stooges for the system, e.g. the ERR in France.

S: Kunsthistoriker im Krieg. Deutscher Militärischer Kunstschutz in Italien 1943-1945, hrsg. v. Christian Fuhrmeister, Johannes Griebel, Stephan Klingen und Ralf Peters (= Veröffentlichungen des Zentralinstituts für Kunstgeschichte, 29), Köln / Weimar / Wien 2012.

This Page:

© Stiftung Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste - 2019

Navigation und Service

Lost Art


Kunstschutz

Laut Haager Landkriegsordnung (1899 bzw. 1907) gehört der Kunstschutz zu den Pflichten der Militärverwaltung in besetzten Ländern.

Im Zweiten Weltkrieg war der Sitz des Kunstschutzes in Frankreich in Paris; zu seinen Aufgaben gehörte, Schlösser und Denkmäler vor Beschädigungen durch die Wehrmacht zu schützen, aber auch „Überwachung der Bergungsdepots der franz. Museen, Sicherstellung und Überwachung des ausländischen Kunstbesitzes, Vorbereitung der Rückführung des Deutschland geraubten Kunstgutes, Kontrolle und Steuerung des deutschen Kunsthandels in Frankreich […].“ (Politisches Archiv des Auswärtigen Amtes, R 61087a). Leiter war der Kunsthistoriker Franz Graf Wolff Metternich, ab Juli 1942 dessen Stellvertreter Bernhard von Tieschowitz. Der Kunstschutz war dem Oberkommando des Heeres-Generalquartiermeister zugeordnet und stand teils durchaus in Widerspruch zu Organisationen des NS-Staates, wie der SS, der Gestapo oder des Einsatzstabes Reichsleiter Rosenberg (ERR).

Mit der deutschen Besatzung einhergehend, wurde auch der Kunstschutz in den betroffenen Gebieten ausgeweitet. Der Kunstschutz wurde in allen eroberten und besetzten Gebieten etabliert, in denen eine Militärverwaltung eingerichtet wurde, also in Belgien, Frankreich, Serbien, Griechenland (ab 1943), und Italien (ab 1943), nicht aber in den Protektoraten (wie Böhmen und Mähren), nicht in den Reichskommissariaten (wie Niederlande, Ostland, Ukraine, Norwegen), nicht im Reichsgau Wartheland, nicht im Generalgouvernement für die besetzten polnischen Gebiete, nicht in den annektierten Gebieten (wie Sudetenland, Luxemburg oder Lothringen und Elsass).

Der weitreichende Kunstraub durch die Deutschen konnte jedoch nicht verhindert werden, denn der Kunstschutz entwickelte sich in manchen Bereichen zum Handlanger des Systems, so z.B. des ERR in Frankreich.

Q: Kunsthistoriker im Krieg. Deutscher Militärischer Kunstschutz in Italien 1943-1945, hrsg. v.Christian Fuhrmeister, Johannes Griebel, Stephan Klingen und Ralf Peters (= Veröffentlichungen des Zentralinstituts für Kunstgeschichte, 29), Köln / Weimar / Wien 2012.

Diese Seite:

© Stiftung Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste - 2019