About the Lost Art Database

The Lost Art Database is maintained by the German Lost Art Foundation. It documents cultural property that was either demonstrably seized from their owners between 1933 and 1945 as a result of Nazi persecution, or for which such a seizure cannot be ruled out ("Nazi-looted art/cultural property").

In addition, the Lost Art Database lists cultural property seized, relocated or removed as a result of the Second World War (“trophy art”).

Search Requests and Found-Object Reports

The Search Requests section lists cultural objects that were lost by private individuals and institutions or public institutions as a result of National Socialist dictatorship or in the course of the Second World War. Their locations are usually unknown, but the search list also includes objects whose locations, e.g. in Russia, are known.

The Found-Object Reports section lists artefacts that are known to have been seized or relocated due to Nazi persecution or as a result of the Second World War. Furthermore, reports on cultural property are published here, for which an uncertain or incomplete provenance indicates a possibly unlawful seizure or a war-related relocation.

In the case of Found-Object Reports, it is not always possible to make a clear assignment to a specific context of loss, as experience has shown that today's owners often do not know the details of the provenance of the artefacts in their possession.

Historical contexts of injustice

Between 1933 and 1945, millions of cultural objects were relocated, confiscated and looted: Persecutees of the Nazi tyranny became victims of state-organized cultural property looting in the form of "Aryanizations," expropriations, forced sales, or forced donations.

At the end of the war, the activities of the Soviet trophy commissions, the thefts of individual military personnel of the Allied forces, or territorial shifts led to the fact that cultural property that had been removed from storage were no longer returned to their original location and were looted, transferred, or relocated as "war trophy." In the Soviet Union in particular, they were intended to serve as compensation for war damage and losses suffered.

Return of the holdings of the Green Vault Dresden, 1958
Loading pianos from confiscated property in Paris, 1943 

 

 

Legal and ethical foundations

The legal foundations for the restitution of cultural property expropriated as a result of Nazi persecution after the Second World War were the Additional Federal Compensation Act of 1953, the Federal Compensation Act (BEG) of 1956 and the Federal Restitution Act (BRüG) of 1957. However, they did not come close to reversing the property transfers. The deadlines for filing claims have since expired.

In 1998, the Washington Principles on Nazi-confiscated art were adopted at the international level. In 1999, Germany followed this historical and moral commitment and issued the Joint Declaration. Point III of the Joint Declaration calls for a public document listing lost and found objects that have been identified by public institutions as or are suspected to be Nazi-looted cultural property. Against this background, the Lost Art Database was put online in April 2000 and Guidelines were prepared by the German Federal Government, the Länder and the national associations of local authorities in 2001.

The starting point for the repatriation of cultural property displaced by war is international law, and in particular the Hague Convention of 1907: Among other things, it prohibits looting (Art. 47 HLKO), protects private property, and prohibits the confiscation, destruction, or damage of works of art (Art. 56 HLKO).

In order to document losses of cultural property from the years 1933 to 1945 and to create a basis for their repatriation, ten German Länder founded the "Koordinierungsstelle der Länder für die Rückführung von Kulturgütern [Coordination Office of the German Federal States for the Repatriation of Cultural Property]" in Bremen in 1994. Since 1998, all 16 Länder and, from 2001, the Federal Government, have participated in the Coordination Office, which was given its headquarters in Magdeburg (Koordinierungsstelle Magdeburg) and merged into the German Lost Art Foundation in 2015.

Workers unpacking porcelain from the "Operation Furniture" in the ERR warehouse in a Paris department store, c. 1942/43 

 

Sensitive language

Titles and descriptions of objects in the Lost Art Database may contain discriminatory terms that reflect historical discourses and power relations. They go back to titles given by artists, manufacturers or authors, or have been handed down through historical inventories, inscriptions, catalogs, etc. We are aware that the use of these terms reproduces discriminatory language. However, in order to ensure that works remain traceable under their historical titles, we have decided to retain these terms. Documentation of historical work titles is essential for provenance research.

Über die Lost Art-Datenbank

Die Lost Art-Datenbank wird von der Stiftung Deutsches Zentrum Kulturgutverluste unterhalten. Sie dokumentiert Kulturgüter, die ihren Eigentümer:innen zwischen 1933 und 1945 aufgrund nationalsozialistischer Verfolgung entweder nachweislich entzogen wurden, oder bei denen ein solcher Entzug nicht ausgeschlossen werden kann
(„NS-Raubgut“).

Darüber hinaus verzeichnet die Lost Art-Datenbank kriegsbedingt verlagertes Kulturgut. Diese auch als Beutegut bezeichneten Objekte wurden während oder infolge des Zweiten Weltkrieges entzogen, verbracht oder verlagert.

Such- und Fundmeldungen

Im Bereich der Suchmeldungen sind Kulturgüter gelistet, die privaten Personen und Einrichtungen oder öffentlichen Institutionen infolge der nationalsozialistischen Gewaltherrschaft bzw. im Zuge des Zweiten Weltkrieges abhanden gekommen sind. In der Suchliste sind auch Objekte enthalten, deren Standorte, z. B. in Russland, bekannt sind.

Der Bereich der Fundmeldungen verzeichnet Objekte, von denen bekannt ist, dass sie unrechtmäßig entzogen bzw. kriegsbedingt verlagert wurden. Weiterhin sind hier Meldungen zu Kulturgütern veröffentlicht, bei denen eine unsichere oder lückenhafte Provenienz auf einen möglicherweise unrechtmäßigen Entzug oder eine kriegsbedingte Verlagerung hinweisen. Bei Fundmeldungen kann nicht immer eine eindeutige Zuordnung zu einem Verlustkontext vorgenommen werden, da heutige Besitzer:innen erfahrungsgemäß häufig die Provenienz der Objekte nicht kennen.

Historische Unrechtskontexte

Zwischen 1933 und 1945 wurden Millionen von Kulturgütern verlagert, entzogen und geraubt: Verfolgte der NS-Gewaltherrschaft wurden Opfer des staatlich organisierten Kulturgutraubs in Form von „Arisierungen“, Enteignungen, Zwangsverkäufen oder erzwungenen Schenkungen.
Zum Kriegsende führten die Aktivitäten der sowjetischen Trophäenkommissionen, die Diebstähle einzelner Militärangehöriger der alliierten Streitkräfte oder Territorialverschiebungen dazu, dass ausgelagerte Kulturgüter nicht mehr an ihren ursprünglichen Ort zurückgeführt und als „Beute“ geplündert, verbracht oder verlagert wurden. Sie sollten insbesondere in der Sowjetunion als Kompensation erlittener Kriegszerstörungen und -verluste dienen.

Beutekunst_ASKD_RS_01_01 1
Rückkehr der Bestände des Grünen Gewölbes Dresden, 1958 
Verladen von Kunstgegenständen
Verladen von Klavieren aus beschlagnahmtem Besitz in Paris, 1943 

 

 

Rechtliche und ethische Grundlagen

Gesetzliche Grundlagen für die Restitution von NS-Raubgut nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg waren das Bundesergänzungsgesetz zur Entschädigung von Opfern der nationalsozialistischen Verfolgung von 1953, das Bundesentschädigungsgesetz (BEG) von 1956 und das Bundesrückerstattungsgesetz (BRüG) von 1957. Allerdings gelang es nicht annähernd, die Vermögensverschiebungen rückgängig zu machen. Die Fristen zur Anmeldung von Ansprüchen sind mittlerweile abgelaufen.

1998 wurden auf internationaler Ebene die Washingtoner Prinzipien↗ (Grundsätze der Washingtoner Konferenz in Bezug auf Kunstwerke, die von den Nationalsozialisten beschlagnahmt wurden) beschlossen. Zu deren Umsetzung bekannte sich Deutschland 1999 im Sinne seiner historischen und moralischen Selbstverpflichtung mittels der Gemeinsamen Erklärung↗. Punkt III der Gemeinsamen Erklärung sieht unter anderem eine öffentliche Such- und Fundliste vor, in die Kulturgüter eingetragen werden, welche von öffentlichen Einrichtungen als NS-Raubgut oder Verdachtsfall ermittelt wurden. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde im April 2000 die Lost Art-Datenbank online gestellt und 2001 von Bundesregierung, Ländern und kommunalen Spitzenverbänden eine Handreichung↗ erarbeitet.

Ausgangspunkt für die Rückführungen kriegsbedingt verlagerten Kulturguts bildet das Völkerrecht und hier speziell die Haager Landkriegsordnung von 1907: Sie verbietet etwa Plünderungen (Art. 47 HLKO), schützt das Privateigentum und untersagt die Beschlagnahmung, Zerstörung oder Beschädigung von Werken der Kunst (Art. 56 HLKO).

Um Kulturgutverluste der Jahre 1933 bis 1945 zu dokumentieren und eine Grundlage für deren Rückführung zu schaffen, gründeten zehn deutsche Länder 1994 in Bremen die „Koordinierungsstelle der Länder für die Rückführung von Kulturgütern“. Seit 1998 beteiligten sich alle 16 Länder und ab 2001 auch der Bund an der Koordinierungsstelle, die ihren Sitz in Magdeburg erhielt und 2015 im Deutschen Zentrum Kulturgutverluste aufging.

Arbeiter beim Auspacken von Porzellan 1942
Arbeiter beim Auspacken von Porzellan der „Möbel-Aktion“ im ERR-Lager in einem Pariser Kaufhaus, um 1942/43 

Sensible Sprache

Titel und Beschreibungen von Objekten in der Lost Art-Datenbank können diskriminierende Begriffe enthalten, die historische Diskurse und Machtverhältnisse widerspiegeln. Sie gehen zurück auf von Künstler:innen, Hersteller:innen oder Autor:innen vergebene Titel oder sind durch historische Inventare, Beschriftungen, Kataloge etc. überliefert. Uns ist bewusst, dass mit der Verwendung dieser Begriffe diskriminierende Sprache reproduziert wird. Um jedoch zu gewährleisten, dass Werke unter ihren historischen Titeln auffindbar bleiben, haben wir uns entschieden, diese Begriffe beizubehalten. Für die Provenienzforschung ist die Dokumentation historischer Werktitel unverzichtbar.